Premier Partners

Score Sports







AYSO Camps

Fox Soccer




AYSO Store


Commission/Task Force Chairs 2015 - 2016
National Coaching Commission Rick Pierce
National Management Commission Dan Klein
National Referee Commission Jim Gregory
National Tournament Commission Irwin Kavy
National Development Commission Matt Winegar
National Endowment Commission Dave Oram
National Extended Play Commission (NEPAC)
David Ehrhart
National Hall of Fame Commission
Jeff McClure
National Legal Commission
Jan Buddingh
National Marketing Commission
Dan Howald
National Software & System Commission
Jay Ballinger
VIP Task Force Steve Poretzky


The AYSO National Commissions

The AYSO National Commissions, and their respective Chairpersons, provide the National President and National Board of Directors (NBOD) with advice and recommendations on coaching, refereeing, management, tournaments, marketing, eAYSO and development. The advice includes analysis of the impact of proposed or actual program changes including cost and financial impact at the national and local levels; on the specific discipline and community of practice; on other disciplines and national programs; on the standing and perception of AYSO as a national organization within the greater soccer and sports communities and on other potential or actual partners and like-minded organizations.

The National Commission Chairs and the members of their National Commissions are subject matter experts in their disciplines. They use their experience and knowledge to support effective decision making by the National President and the NBOD. They are expected to have an extensive knowledge of AYSO programs including the Six Philosophies, AYSO's structure, its National Procedures, Policies, Bylaws and Rules & Regulations. Strong analytical skills are needed to evaluate the impact of actions on the organization at all levels. They should have a good understanding of the complexities of working with volunteers in youth sports and non-profit organizations. Leadership experience and skills are key to helping to form and manage task forces that will frequently be used to further develop projects. Experience in budgetary planning and cost analysis is also desired.

Things to know:

  • These are volunteer positions.
  • Time commitment for National Commission members is anticipated to be 200 to 300 hours per year.
  • Members may be required to take additional training if selected for the position.
  • The complete Position Job Description for each Commission is available for download.

The National Commissions are each subject to review and restructuring annually. Only complete applications will be considered. The deadline for submitting an application for the 2015-16 fiscal year is May 29, 2015.

Job Descriptions

National Coaching Commission Member Job Description

National Management Commission Member Job Description

National Referee Commission Member Job Description

National Tournament Commission Member Job Description

National eAYSO Advisory Commission Member Job Description

National Development Commission Member Job Description

AYSO volunteers interested in serving on one of the Commissions are welcome to submit a resume and application at any time during the year.

Application Process

Supply the following documents to the National Office (applications must include both documents):

  • Completed Application Form

  • A resume of your relevant professional and volunteer experience

The documents may be submitted electronically to or by mail:

AYSO Commission Search
Attn: Frankie Shabsin
19750 S. Vermont Ave., Suite 200
Torrance, CA 90502

Commission Member Application Form

Task Force Member Application Form

[NOTE: These are MS Word fillable form. Please save the file before you complete it. Use this naming convention:
NAC Application YYYY where YYYY is the name of the Commission for which you are applying (in caps) and ending with your name. (e.g., NAC Application REFEREE - Jim Smith. Thanks.]

Back to top